Educational Foundation Logo

Watford Fellowship

Watford Group Logo

Announcing the 2017 "Watford Fellowship" Winner!

Thomas C. Cornillie of Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority

AREMA Educational Initiative for “Early Career” Individuals Involved
with Railway Infrastructure Design

More Information  |  Application and Certification

The AREMA Educational Foundation in cooperation with the US Committee to the Watford Group of International Railway Designers has created a unique learning opportunity for aspiring railway employees to gain international perspective of railroad design and operations called the "Watford Fellowship." The 2017 Fellowship will consist of two paid registrations to the 2017 Watford Conference in Europe valued at approximately US$1500.00. The 2017 event is organized by the railway personnel from the various train operating companies and will include tours of recent infrastructure and rolling stock projects. The four day conference, targeted for late October, includes presentations by the attendees in all aspects of railway planning and design with an emphasis on buildings, bridge and tunnel structures, and corporate identity. The 52nd Watford Conference will be held in Madrid, Spain, October 20 - 22, 2017.

The Watford Group was created in 1963 by British Railways to encourage the exchange of ideas and promote design excellence among its operating regions; other countries were invited to join and subsequently, over twenty nations are now eligible to send delegates to the annual Watford Conference. The Watford Group is one of the very few global organizations that integrate all aspects of rail transportation under the umbrella of "good design is good business."

The goals of this initiative are twofold: to broaden professional horizons of aspiring railroaders while enabling them to carry the AREMA brand internationally and, to add new members to the US Watford Committee that can carry on the tradition of Watford Conference participation and the educational benefits that accrue.

Thomas C. Cornillie

Thomas C. Cornillie of Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Authority selected as the
2017 "Watford Fellow".